Blogging Is Hard…Life Is Busy…So What?!

I write articles.  At least, I used to.  It has been quite a while since my last post, and there are many possible reasons.  I could go with the tried-and-true “I’m too busy” excuse, and that could be true.  We’ve had church camp, a vacation with in-laws, and two VBS’s.  Yea, that’s right…TWO!!!  We had ours here in Fritch, and traveled to help out with one in Oklahoma (BOOMER!).  I also have been working on multiple apps, and dealing with much stricter-than-usual app reviews from Apple that lock me up on a particular app for months (sorry Dale and all of SMCOC congregation).  That’s just the extra stuff that goes on in the summer, too!  I still have my normal duties, and time with the family.  So, yes, I am busy.  But that’s not the reason I have not posted.

I could go with the “I don’t know what to write about” excuse, but again, that is not true.  I have lots of different opinions of things I could easily write about.  Looking on Facebook for just 3 minutes presented me with several different topics that could easily make great articles.  So, I know what I could write about, and that is not an excuse.

Closely related with the “I’m too busy” is the “I don’t have time” excuse.  Of course, I find time to stay somewhat caught up with Daredevil and Doctor Who on Netflix, so that seems like a hypocritical excuse.

The true and sad reason I haven’t posted in a while?  I’m unmotivated to do so.  Why do I post?  Who reads this stuff?  Does it make a difference?  I feel like I’m putting in tons of time and occasionally spell-checking, just so three people a month can read it.  So, there we have it…the true reason I haven’t written is because I haven’t felt compelled to.

My wife wrote a post over at Creating A Great Day recently called “Raising Your Kids in The Church”.  It deals with the importance of starting off early ‘training’ your child, and different pieces of advice for making taking them to worship service not seem like a grueling chore.  Maybe we need an article about ways to get yourself to worship service, and not make it seem like a grueling chore.  If so, I think the first piece of advice should be “Admit you’re not too busy, that you DO have enough time, and GO”.  If I allowed that to be my excuse for not blogging, I would stop there, and resign myself to the fact that I have no time for blogging.  Since I dug deeper, I can now deal with those issues and get back into it.

It may be a bit blunt, but here is the honest truth: You have plenty of time to worship.  All your excuses about the time you don’t have to drive 30 minutes (average round-trip drive there and back), sit for 2 hours of Bible class and worship, don’t hold water.  We make time for football games, baseball games, sports practices (remember anything outside of classes is mostly EXTRAcurricular, not required), and date nights.  Why do we have time for those, and not worship?  Because time isn’t the answer.  Accept that you have the time, and search for the real reason you aren’t going, and work on THAT issue.

Is worship necessary?  Is it all that important that you go?  Absolutely!  Why, you ask?  Well, that’s an article for another day…if I can only find the time.

notenoughtime

Leave a comment